top of page

A sad goodbye to a great hobby shop

After nearly 33 years, Linda Ciesla, owner of Hobby Hut in Pompton Plains NJ will be closing her popular and historic hobby shop. Established in 1969, the store is one of the oldest hobby stores in the USA. Linda said "at the age of 23 I had the pleasure of taking over the business from my dad. I of course was a women in a man's world and at that time it was unheard of." Linda elaborated and said "it is time to say goodbye to a store I grew up in as a child and that has been my life as an adult."

Linda Ciesla with AMA Vice President, District 2 Eric Williams

Besides being a woman in a male dominated industry, Linda overcame many obstacles. She moved her entire establishment at least once, and several years ago dealt with major flooding in her store. Adversity never got the best of Linda. She always had a smile for customers and said "I would like to thank my parents believing in me to take over the store, as it has been my passion and pleasure being involved in this wonderful hobby."

Never forgetting her customers, Linda said, "To all my customers I thank you for all the wonderful years you have given me. Most of you have been not only my customers but my friends!" Thank You Linda for all that you've done to support our hobby through the years.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page